How We Learn

How We Learn : The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens

How We Learn : The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens

  • Format: Paperback | 272 pages
  • Dimensions: 139 x 209 x 15mm | 215g
  • Publication date: 09 Jun 2015
  • Publisher: Random House USA Inc
  • Imprint: Random House Trade Paperbacks
  • Publication City/Country: New York, United States
  • Language: English
  • Edition Statement: Reprint
  • Illustrations note: DIAGRAMS THROUGHOUT
  • ISBN10: 0812984293
  • ISBN13: 9780812984293
  • Bestsellers rank: 62,302

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today--and how we can apply it to our own lives.

From an early age, it is drilled into our heads: Restlessness, distraction, and ignorance are the enemies of success. We're told that learning is all self-discipline, that we must confine ourselves to designated study areas, turn off the music, and maintain a strict ritual if we want to ace that test, memorize that presentation, or nail that piano recital.

But what if almost everything we were told about learning is wrong? And what if there was a way to achieve more with less effort?

In How We Learn, award-winning science reporter Benedict Carey sifts through decades of education research and landmark studies to uncover the truth about how our brains absorb and retain information. What he discovers is that, from the moment we are born, we are all learning quickly, efficiently, and automatically; but in our zeal to systematize the process we have ignored valuable, naturally enjoyable learning tools like forgetting, sleeping, and daydreaming. Is a dedicated desk in a quiet room really the best way to study? Can altering your routine improve your recall? Are there times when distraction is good? Is repetition necessary? Carey's search for answers to these questions yields a wealth of strategies that make learning more a part of our everyday lives--and less of a chore.

By road testing many of the counterintuitive techniques described in this book, Carey shows how we can flex the neural muscles that make deep learning possible. Along the way he reveals why teachers should give final exams on the first day of class, why it's wise to interleave subjects and concepts when learning any new skill, and when it's smarter to stay up late prepping for that presentation than to rise early for one last cram session. And if this requires some suspension of disbelief, that's because the research defies what we've been told, throughout our lives, about how best to learn.

The brain is not like a muscle, at least not in any straightforward sense. It is something else altogether, sensitive to mood, to timing, to circadian rhythms, as well as to location and environment. It doesn't take orders well, to put it mildly. If the brain is a learning machine, then it is an eccentric one. In How We Learn, Benedict Carey shows us how to exploit its quirks to our advantage.

More Books:

How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Benedict Carey
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-01 - Publisher: Macmillan

This book will help you to learn Spanish - or the Spanish guitar - faster. This book will give an athlete the edge to turn Silver into Gold. This book will give
How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Knud Illeris
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-10-21 - Publisher: Routledge

Having published in 11 languages and sold in more than 100,000 copies, this fully revised edition of How We Learn examines what learning actually is and why and
How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Stanislas Dehaene
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-01-28 - Publisher: Penguin

“There are words that are so familiar they obscure rather than illuminate the thing they mean, and ‘learning’ is such a word. It seems so ordinary, everyo
How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 274
Authors: Benedict Carey
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-09 - Publisher: Random House

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about lear
How We Learn to Be Brave
Language: en
Pages: 225
Authors: Mariann Edgar Budde
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2023-05-23 - Publisher: Penguin

An inspirational guide to the key junctures in life that, if navigated with faith and discernment, pave the way for us to become our most courageous selves, by
How People Learn
Language: en
Pages: 386
Authors: National Research Council
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2000-09-11 - Publisher: National Academies Press

First released in the Spring of 1999, How People Learn has been expanded to show how the theories and insights from the original book can translate into actions
We're Born to Learn
Language: en
Pages: 276
Authors: Rita Smilkstein
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003 - Publisher: Corwin Press

This essential resource provides parents and educators of students of all ages with research-based, classroom-proven strategies for how to implement brain-compa
How People Learn
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: National Research Council
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2000-08-11 - Publisher: National Academies Press

First released in the Spring of 1999, How People Learn has been expanded to show how the theories and insights from the original book can translate into actions
How We Learn
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Teaching Company, LLC, The
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-12-16 - Publisher:

Natural Born Learners
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Alex Beard
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-04-12 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Learning is the soul of our species. From our first steps to our last words, we are what we learn. But for all its obvious importance, learning has lost touch w