Racial Melancholia, Racial Dissociation

Racial Melancholia, Racial Dissociation : On the Social and Psychic Lives of Asian Americans

Racial Melancholia, Racial Dissociation : On the Social and Psychic Lives of Asian Americans

  • Format: Paperback | 232 pages
  • Dimensions: 152 x 229 x 15.24mm | 340g
  • Publication date: 15 Feb 2019
  • Publisher: Duke University Press
  • Publication City/Country: North Carolina, United States
  • Language: English
  • ISBN10: 1478001607
  • ISBN13: 9781478001607
  • Bestsellers rank: 56,714

In Racial Melancholia, Racial Dissociation critic David L. Eng and psychotherapist Shinhee Han draw on case histories from the mid-1990s to the present to explore the social and psychic predicaments of Asian American young adults from Generation X to Generation Y. Combining critical race theory with several strands of psychoanalytic thought, they develop the concepts of racial melancholia and racial dissociation to investigate changing processes of loss associated with immigration, displacement, diaspora, and assimilation. These case studies of first- and second-generation Asian Americans deal with a range of difficulties, from depression, suicide, and the politics of coming out to broader issues of the model minority stereotype, transnational adoption, parachute children, colorblind discourses in the United States, and the rise of Asia under globalization. Throughout, Eng and Han link psychoanalysis to larger structural and historical phenomena, illuminating how the study of psychic processes of individuals can inform investigations of race, sexuality, and immigration while creating a more sustained conversation about the social lives of Asian Americans and Asians in the diaspora.

More Books:

Racial Melancholia, Racial Dissociation
Language: en
Pages: 232
Authors: David L. Eng
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-01-11 - Publisher:

David L. Eng and Shinhee Han draw on psychoanalytic case histories from the mid-1990s to the present to explore how first- and second-generation Asian American
Racial Melancholia, Racial Dissociation
Language: en
Pages: 232
Authors: David L. Eng
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-01-17 - Publisher: Duke University Press

In Racial Melancholia, Racial Dissociation critic David L. Eng and psychotherapist Shinhee Han draw on case histories from the mid-1990s to the present to explo
Asian Americans and the Spirit of Racial Capitalism
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Jonathan Tran
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-11-09 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

Any serious consideration of Asian American life forces us to reframe the way we talk about racism and antiracism. The current emphasis on racial identity obscu
Permission to Come Home
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Jenny Wang
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-05-03 - Publisher: Hachette UK

“Dr. Jenny T. Wang has been an incredible resource for Asian mental health. I believe that her knowledge, presence, and activism for mental health in the Asia
Seeing Ghosts
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Kat Chow
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-08-24 - Publisher: Hachette UK

For readers of Helen Macdonald and Elizabeth Alexander, an intimate and haunting portrait of grief and the search for meaning from a singular new talent as told
Hating, Abhorring and Wishing to Destroy
Language: en
Pages: 274
Authors: Donald Moss
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-11-10 - Publisher: Routledge

The kinds of hatreds that analysts have assumed make up part of the unspoken backdrop of Western civilization have now erupted into our daily foreground. This b
Asian American Literature in Transition, 1965-1996: Volume 3
Language: en
Pages: 436
Authors: Asha Nadkarni
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-17 - Publisher:

Asian American Literature in Transition Volume Three: 1965-1996 offers a multidisciplinary perspective on the political and aesthetic stakes of what is now reco
Ambivalent Childhoods
Language: en
Pages: 280
Authors: Jacob Breslow
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-07-20 - Publisher: U of Minnesota Press

Explores childhood in relation to blackness, transfeminism, queerness, and deportability to interrogate what “the child” makes possible The concept of child
Global South Scholars in the Western Academy
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Staci B. Martin
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-11-12 - Publisher: Routledge

By foregrounding the voices and experiences of scholars from the Global South who have migrated to institutions in the Global North, this volume theorizes the "
Black Feelings
Language: en
Pages: 238
Authors: Lisa M. Corrigan
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-02-25 - Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi

In the 1969 issue of Negro Digest, a young Black Arts Movement poet then-named Ameer (Amiri) Baraka published “We Are Our Feeling: The Black Aesthetic.” Bar