How Learning Works

How Learning Works : Seven Research-Based Principles for Smart Teaching

Distilling the research literature and translating the scientific approach into language relevant to a college or university teacher, this book introduces seven general principles of how students learn. The authors have drawn on research from a breadth of perspectives (cognitive, developmental, and social psychology; educational research; anthropology; demographics; organizational behavior) to identify a set of key principles underlying learning, from how effective organization enhances retrieval and use of information to what impacts motivation. Integrating theory with real-classroom examples in practice, this book helps faculty to apply cognitive science advances to improve their own teaching.

  • Format: Hardback | 336 pages
  • Dimensions: 159 x 239 x 29mm | 538g
  • Publication date: 25 May 2010
  • Publisher: John Wiley & Sons Inc
  • Publication City/Country: New York, United States
  • Language: English
  • ISBN10: 0470484101
  • ISBN13: 9780470484104
  • Bestsellers rank: 83,644

More Books:

How Learning Works
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Susan A. Ambrose
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-04-16 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

Praise for How Learning Works "How Learning Works is the perfect title for this excellent book. Drawing upon new research in psychology, education, and cognitiv
How Learning Works
Language: en
Pages: 270
Authors: John Almarode
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-07-21 - Publisher: Corwin Press

Translate the science of learning into strategies for maximum learning impact in your classroom. The content, skills, and understandings students need to learn
How Learning Happens
Language: en
Pages: 310
Authors: Paul A. Kirschner
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020 - Publisher: Routledge

"How Learning Happens introduces 28 giants of educational research and their findings on how we learn and what we need to learn effectively, efficiently and enj
How Tutoring Works
Language: en
Pages: 137
Authors: Nancy Frey
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-26 - Publisher: Corwin Press

Build students’ confidence and competence with tutoring strategies that spark meaningful, accelerated learning. Tutoring is much more than telling students in
Make It Stick
Language: en
Pages: 330
Authors: Peter C. Brown
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-04-14 - Publisher: Harvard University Press

To most of us, learning something "the hard way" implies wasted time and effort. Good teaching, we believe, should be creatively tailored to the different learn
Learning How to Learn
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Barbara Oakley, PhD
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-08-07 - Publisher: Penguin

A surprisingly simple way for students to master any subject--based on one of the world's most popular online courses and the bestselling book A Mind for Number
Visible Learning for Science, Grades K-12
Language: en
Pages: 131
Authors: John Almarode
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-02-15 - Publisher: Corwin Press

In the best science classrooms, teachers see learning through the eyes of their students, and students view themselves as explorers. But with so many instructio
How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 274
Authors: Benedict Carey
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-09 - Publisher: Random House

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about lear
Co-Teaching That Works
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Anne M. Beninghof
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-01-24 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

Guaranteed success for the co-taught classroom For the increasing number of teachers working in co-taught classrooms, this book provides practical ideas for def
Visible Learning and the Science of How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 350
Authors: John Hattie
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-10-08 - Publisher: Routledge

On publication in 2009 John Hattie’s Visible Learning presented the biggest ever collection of research into what actually work in schools to improve children