Understanding How We Learn

Understanding How We Learn : A Visual Guide

Educational practice does not, for the most part, rely on research findings. Instead, there's a preference for relying on our intuitions about what's best for learning. But relying on intuition may be a bad idea for teachers and learners alike.

This accessible guide helps teachers to integrate effective, research-backed strategies for learning into their classroom practice. The book explores exactly what constitutes good evidence for effective learning and teaching strategies, how to make evidence-based judgments instead of relying on intuition, and how to apply findings from cognitive psychology directly to the classroom.

Including real-life examples and case studies, FAQs, and a wealth of engaging illustrations to explain complex concepts and emphasize key points, the book is divided into four parts:

Evidence-based education and the science of learning
Basics of human cognitive processes
Strategies for effective learning
Tips for students, teachers, and parents.

Written by "The Learning Scientists" and fully illustrated by Oliver Caviglioli, Understanding How We Learn is a rejuvenating and fresh examination of cognitive psychology's application to education. This is an essential read for all teachers and educational practitioners, designed to convey the concepts of research to the reality of a teacher's classroom.

  • Format: Paperback | 166 pages
  • Dimensions: 174 x 246 x 15.24mm | 349g
  • Publication date: 26 Aug 2018
  • Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
  • Imprint: ROUTLEDGE
  • Publication City/Country: London, United Kingdom
  • Language: English
  • Illustrations note: 204 Illustrations, black and white
  • ISBN10: 113856172X
  • ISBN13: 9781138561724
  • Bestsellers rank: 61,783

More Books:

Understanding How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 238
Authors: Yana Weinstein
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-08-22 - Publisher: Routledge

Educational practice does not, for the most part, rely on research findings. Instead, there’s a preference for relying on our intuitions about what’s best f
Learning How to Learn
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Barbara Oakley, PhD
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-08-07 - Publisher: Penguin

A surprisingly simple way for students to master any subject--based on one of the world's most popular online courses and the bestselling book A Mind for Number
Powerful Learning
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Linda Darling-Hammond
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-07-15 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

In Powerful Learning, Linda Darling-Hammond and animpressive list of co-authors offer a clear, comprehensive, andengaging exploration of the most effective clas
How People Learn
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: National Research Council
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2000-08-11 - Publisher: National Academies Press

First released in the Spring of 1999, How People Learn has been expanded to show how the theories and insights from the original book can translate into actions
How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 274
Authors: Benedict Carey
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-09 - Publisher: Random House

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about lear
How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 369
Authors: Stanislas Dehaene
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-02-02 - Publisher: Penguin

“There are words that are so familiar they obscure rather than illuminate the thing they mean, and ‘learning’ is such a word. It seems so ordinary, everyo
Deep Knowledge
Language: en
Pages: 177
Authors: Douglas B. Larkin
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-04-25 - Publisher: Teachers College Press

Deep Knowledge is a book about how peoples ideas change as they learn to teach. Using the experiences of six middle and high school student teachers as they lea
Learning and Understanding
Language: en
Pages: 588
Authors: National Research Council
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002-08-06 - Publisher: National Academies Press

This book takes a fresh look at programs for advanced studies for high school students in the United States, with a particular focus on the Advanced Placement a
Visible Learning and the Science of How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 350
Authors: John Hattie
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-10-08 - Publisher: Routledge

On publication in 2009 John Hattie’s Visible Learning presented the biggest ever collection of research into what actually work in schools to improve children
Understanding how Young Children Learn
Language: en
Pages: 219
Authors: Wendy L. Ostroff
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012 - Publisher: ASCD

Ostroff highlights processes that propel learning (including play and collaboration), distilling the research into the most important ideas teachers need to des