Forensics For Dummies

Forensics For Dummies

Understand the real-life science behind crime scene investigation

Forensics For DummiesA takes you inside the world of crime scene investigation to give you the low down on this exciting field. Written by a doctor and former Law & Order consultant, this guide will have you solving crimes along with your favorite TV shows in no time. From fingerprints and fibers to blood and ballistics, you'll walk through the processes that yield significant information from the smallest clues. You'll learn how Hollywood gets it wrong, and how real-world forensics experts work every day in fields as diverse as biology, psychology, anthropology, medicine, information technology, and more. If you're interested in a forensics career, you'll find out how to break inAand the education you'll need to do the type of forensics work that interests you the most. Written for the true forensics fan, this book doesn't shy away from the details; you'll learn what goes on at the morgue as you determine cause of death, and you'll climb into the mind of a killer as you learn how forensic psychologists narrow down the suspect list.

Crime shows are entertaining, but the reality is that most forensics cases aren't wrapped up in an hour. This book shows you how it's really done, and the amazing technology and brilliant people that do it every day.

Learn who does what, when they do it, and how it's done
Discover the many fields involved in crime scene investigation
Understand what really happens inside a forensics lab
Examine famous forensics cases more intriguing than any TV show

Forensic scientists work in a variety of environments and in many different capacities. If you think television makes it look interesting, just wait until you learn what it's really like! Forensics For Dummies takes you on a tour of the real-world science behind solving the case.

P.S. If you think this book seems familiar, youAre probably right. The Dummies team updated the cover and design to give the book a fresh feel, but the content is the same as the previous release of Forensics For Dummies (9781119181651). The book you see here shouldnAt be considered a new or updated product. But if youAre in the mood to learn something new, check out some of our other books. WeAre always writing about new topics!

  • Format: Paperback | 400 pages
  • Dimensions: 188 x 240 x 22mm | 738g
  • Publication date: 12 Jul 2019
  • Publisher: John Wiley & Sons Inc
  • Publication City/Country: New York, United States
  • Language: English
  • Edition Statement: 2nd Edition
  • ISBN10: 1119608961
  • ISBN13: 9781119608967
  • Bestsellers rank: 419,518

More Books:

Forensics For Dummies
Language: en
Pages: 395
Authors: Douglas P. Lyle
Categories: True Crime
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-09-14 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

A plain-English primer on crime scene investigation that's a must for fans of CSI or Patricia Cornwell Since the O. J. Simpson case, popular interest in forensi
Forensics For Dummies
Language: en
Pages: 450
Authors: Douglas P. Lyle
Categories: True Crime
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-02-09 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

Understand the real-life science behind crime scene investigation Forensics For Dummies takes you inside the world of crime scene investigation to give you the
Computer Forensics For Dummies
Language: en
Pages: 391
Authors: Carol Pollard
Categories: Computers
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-10-13 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

Uncover a digital trail of e-evidence by using the helpful, easy-to-understand information in Computer Forensics For Dummies! Professional and armchair investig
Forensic Psychology For Dummies
Language: en
Pages: 429
Authors: David V. Canter
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-05-14 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

A fascinating guide on the psychology of crime Thinking of a career that indulges your CSI fantasies? Want to understand the psychology of crime? Whether studyi
Forensic Accounting For Dummies
Language: en
Pages: 391
Authors: Frimette Kass-Shraibman
Categories: Law
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-02-08 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

A practical, hands-on guide to forensic accounting Careers in forensic accounting are hot-US News & World Report recently designated forensic accounting as one
Howdunit Forensics
Language: en
Pages: 543
Authors: D.P. Lyle
Categories: Medical
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-03-21 - Publisher: Penguin

Just because you don't have all the tools and training of a full-time medical examiner, doesn't mean you can't learn your way around a crime scene. In Forensics
Criminology For Dummies
Language: en
Pages: 385
Authors: Steven Briggs
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-02-04 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

Your thorough guide to comprehending and combating crime Are you fascinated by criminology, forensics, and detective work? This you-are-there guide takes you de
A Beginner's Guide to Forensic Science
Language: en
Pages: 261
Authors: Susan M. Carlson
Categories: Law
Type: BOOK - Published: 2023-04-04 - Publisher: Quantum Scientific Publishing

Forensic science has captured the attention of the public, as illustrated by the popularity of television crime shows that involve forensics. This introductory
Forensics
Language: en
Pages: 350
Authors: Val McDermid
Categories: True Crime
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-07-07 - Publisher: Open Road + Grove/Atlantic

Bestselling author of Broken Ground “offers fascinating glimpses” into the real world of criminal forensics from its beginnings to the modern day (The Bosto
The Handy Forensic Science Answer Book
Language: en
Pages: 594
Authors: Patricia Barnes-Svarney
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-09-01 - Publisher: Visible Ink Press

A practical, accessible, and informative guide to the science of criminal investigations. Covering the fundamentals, science, history, and analysis of clues, Th