How People Learn

How People Learn : Designing Education and Training that Works to Improve Performance

What if we have been wrong about learning? Learning may have more in common with marketing than we thought. Looking at marketing and learning's common root, How People Learn shows L&D professionals a new way of thinking about learning by exploring what happens when we learn. It considers applications from AI, marketing and ethics and is informed by psychology and contemporary neuroscience in order to show L&D professionals how to design training with their employees in mind so that training makes a real difference to skills, capabilities, performance and development, rather than being a waste of time, money and resources.

Using the author's '5Di model', How People Learn demonstrates how to define, design and deploy training in a user-centred way so it works both for and with employees. It also includes guidance on what training resources to create when employees are actively searching for learning content. Using this book, L&D practitioners will be able to use pull and push techniques to provide content that people use and experiences that transform their behaviour. From how to use simulations, storytelling and anticipation to the importance of observation and status, this book gives L&D professionals everything they need to build effective training programmes and learning experiences. With a foreword by Dr Roger Schank, the Chairman and CEO of Socratic Arts and Executive Director of Engines for Education, and case studies from companies such as BP and the BBC, this is an urgent read for learning professionals.

  • Format: Paperback | 264 pages
  • Dimensions: 155 x 235 x 15mm | 400g
  • Publication date: 28 May 2019
  • Publisher: Kogan Page Ltd
  • Publication City/Country: London, United Kingdom
  • Language: English
  • ISBN10: 0749484705
  • ISBN13: 9780749484705
  • Bestsellers rank: 218,154

More Books:

How People Learn
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: National Research Council
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2000-08-11 - Publisher: National Academies Press

First released in the Spring of 1999, How People Learn has been expanded to show how the theories and insights from the original book can translate into actions
How People Learn II
Language: en
Pages: 347
Authors: National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-09-27 - Publisher: National Academies Press

There are many reasons to be curious about the way people learn, and the past several decades have seen an explosion of research that has important implications
Design For How People Learn
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Julie Dirksen
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-11-07 - Publisher: New Riders

Products, technologies, and workplaces change so quickly today that everyone is continually learning. Many of us are also teaching, even when it's not in our jo
How People Learn
Language: en
Pages: 265
Authors: Nick Shackleton-Jones
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-05-03 - Publisher: Kogan Page Publishers

What if we have been wrong about learning? Learning may have more in common with marketing than we thought. Looking at marketing and learning's common root, How
How People Learn
Language: en
Pages: 386
Authors: National Research Council
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2000-09-11 - Publisher: National Academies Press

First released in the Spring of 1999, How People Learn has been expanded to show how the theories and insights from the original book can translate into actions
How People Learn
Language: en
Pages: 159
Authors: Olimpia Mesa
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-08-07 - Publisher:

Whether you''re a parent, grandparent, teacher, therapist or other significant caregiver, I''ve written this book for you and the children you care for. My goal
Learning How to Learn
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Barbara Oakley, PhD
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-08-07 - Publisher: Penguin

A surprisingly simple way for students to master any subject--based on one of the world's most popular online courses and the bestselling book A Mind for Number
Learn Better
Language: en
Pages: 306
Authors: Ulrich Boser
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-09-03 - Publisher: Rodale Books

For centuries, experts have argued that learning was about memorizing information: You're supposed to study facts, dates, and details; burn them into your memor
How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 274
Authors: Benedict Carey
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-09 - Publisher: Random House

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about lear
The Fundamentals of Workplace Learning
Language: en
Pages: 192
Authors: Knud Illeris
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-12-14 - Publisher: Routledge

Fundamentals of Workplace Learning is a comprehensive guide to how people learn in the workplace, and the issues and challenges involved. Examining the essentia