The Read-Aloud Family

The Read-Aloud Family : Making Meaningful and Lasting Connections with Your Kids

Discover practical strategies to make reading aloud a meaningful family ritual.

The stories we read--and the conversations we have about them--help shape family traditions, create lifelong memories, and become part of our legacy. Reading aloud not only has the power to change a family--it has the power to change the world.

But we all know that connecting deeply with our families can be difficult in our busy, technology-driven society. Reading aloud is one of the best ways to be fully present with our children, even after they can read themselves, but it isn't always easy to do. Discover how to:

Prepare your kids for academic success through reading to them
Develop empathy and compassion in your kids through books
Find time to read aloud in the midst of school, sports, and dinner dishes
Choose books across a variety of sibling interests and ages
Make reading aloud the best part of your family's day

The Read-Aloud Family also offers age-appropriate book lists from infancy through adolescence. From a toddler's wonder to a teenager's resistance, you will find the inspiration you need to start a read-aloud movement in your own home.

  • Format: Paperback | 288 pages
  • Dimensions: 139 x 213 x 19mm | 258g
  • Publication date: 19 Apr 2018
  • Publisher: Zondervan
  • Publication City/Country: Grand Rapids, United States
  • Language: English
  • ISBN10: 0310350328
  • ISBN13: 9780310350323
  • Bestsellers rank: 79,368

More Books:

The Read-Aloud Family
Language: en
Pages: 283
Authors: Sarah Mackenzie
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-03-27 - Publisher: HarperChristian + ORM

Discover practical strategies to make reading aloud a meaningful family ritual. The stories we read--and the conversations we have about them--help shape family
The Family Book
Language: en
Pages: 59
Authors: Todd Parr
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-11-16 - Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Represents a variety of families, some big and some small, some with only one parent and some with two moms or dads, some quiet and some noisy, but all alike in
I Love Us: a Book about Family (with Mirror and Fill-In Family Tree)
Language: en
Pages: 27
Authors: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Categories: Board books
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-03-17 - Publisher: HMH Books For Young Readers

Celebrates the many different ways that families show their love for one another, in a text with a mirror and fill-in family tree.
Our Class is a Family
Language: en
Pages: 26
Authors: Shannon Olsen
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-07 - Publisher:

"Family isn't always your relatives. It's the ones who accept you for who you are. The ones who would do anything to see you smile, and who love you no matter w
My Family, Your Family
Language: en
Pages: 28
Authors: Lisa Bullard
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-04-01 - Publisher: Millbrook Press

Makayla meets her friends' families. She notices some families have many children, but others don't. Some friends live with grandparents or have two dads or hav
Tacky and the Winter Games
Language: en
Pages: 32
Authors: Helen Lester
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-10-29 - Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

"A-huff-and-a-puff-and-a-huff-and-a-puff-and-a-huff-and-a-puff" "WHAT'S HAPPENING?" Tacky the penguin wants to know. The Winter Games, that's what's happening.
A Family Is a Family Is a Family
Language: en
Pages: 36
Authors: Sara O'Leary
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-07-10 - Publisher: Groundwood Books Ltd

When a teacher asks her class to think about what makes their families special, the answers are all different, but the same in one important way ... When a teac
Home in the Woods
Language: en
Pages: 42
Authors: Eliza Wheeler
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-10-01 - Publisher: Penguin

This stunningly beautiful picture book from New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Eliza Wheeler is based on her grandmother's childhood and pays homage
A Family for Louie
Language: en
Pages: 41
Authors: Alexandra Thompson
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-06-09 - Publisher: Penguin

A foodie French bulldog finds a forever home in this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book, sure to appeal to fans of Gaston, Ellie, and Little Elliot, B
Teaching from Rest
Language: en
Pages: 0
Authors: Sarah Mackenzie
Categories: Christian education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-09-15 - Publisher:

In the book of Philippians we are told to be anxious over nothing, and yet we are anxious over everything. We worry that our students will be "behind," that the