How People Learn

How People Learn : Brain, Mind, Experience, and School: Expanded Edition

First released in the Spring of 1999, How People Learn has been expanded to show how the theories and insights from the original book can translate into actions and practice, now making a real connection between classroom activities and learning behavior. This edition includes far-reaching suggestions for research that could increase the impact that classroom teaching has on actual learning.

Like the original edition, this book offers exciting new research about the mind and the brain that provides answers to a number of compelling questions. When do infants begin to learn? How do experts learn and how is this different from non-experts? What can teachers and schools do-with curricula, classroom settings, and teaching methods?to help children learn most effectively? New evidence from many branches of science has significantly added to our understanding of what it means to know, from the neural processes that occur during learning to the influence of culture on what people see and absorb.

How People Learn examines these findings and their implications for what we teach, how we teach it, and how we assess what our children learn. The book uses exemplary teaching to illustrate how approaches based on what we now know result in in-depth learning. This new knowledge calls into question concepts and practices firmly entrenched in our current education system.

Topics include:

How learning actually changes the physical structure of the brain.
How existing knowledge affects what people notice and how they learn.
What the thought processes of experts tell us about how to teach.
The amazing learning potential of infants.
The relationship of classroom learning and everyday settings of community and workplace.
Learning needs and opportunities for teachers.
A realistic look at the role of technology in education.

  • Format: Paperback | 384 pages
  • Dimensions: 152 x 229 x 25.4mm | 816.47g
  • Publication date: 11 Sep 2000
  • Publisher: National Academies Press
  • Publication City/Country: Washington, United States
  • Language: English
  • Edition: Enlarged
  • Edition Statement: Expanded ed
  • Illustrations note: index
  • ISBN10: 0309070368
  • ISBN13: 9780309070362
  • Bestsellers rank: 80,331

More Books:

How People Learn
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: National Research Council
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2000-08-11 - Publisher: National Academies Press

First released in the Spring of 1999, How People Learn has been expanded to show how the theories and insights from the original book can translate into actions
How People Learn II
Language: en
Pages: 347
Authors: National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-09-27 - Publisher: National Academies Press

There are many reasons to be curious about the way people learn, and the past several decades have seen an explosion of research that has important implications
Design for how People Learn
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Julie Dirksen
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011 - Publisher: New Riders

Products, technologies, and workplaces change so quickly today that everyone is continually learning. Many of us are also teaching, even when it's not in our jo
How People Learn
Language: en
Pages: 265
Authors: Nick Shackleton-Jones
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-05-03 - Publisher: Kogan Page Publishers

What if we have been wrong about learning? Learning may have more in common with marketing than we thought. Looking at marketing and learning's common root, How
How People Learn
Language: en
Pages: 88
Authors: Committee on Learning Research and Educational Practice
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 1999-06-15 - Publisher: National Academies Press

How People Learn: Bridging Research and Practice provides a broad overview of research on learners and learning and on teachers and teaching. It expands on the
How People Learn
Language: en
Pages: 159
Authors: Olimpia Mesa
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-08-07 - Publisher:

Whether you''re a parent, grandparent, teacher, therapist or other significant caregiver, I''ve written this book for you and the children you care for. My goal
Learn Better
Language: en
Pages: 306
Authors: Ulrich Boser
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-09-03 - Publisher: Rodale Books

For centuries, experts have argued that learning was about memorizing information: You're supposed to study facts, dates, and details; burn them into your memor
How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 274
Authors: Benedict Carey
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-09 - Publisher: Random House

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about lear
Achieving High Educational Standards for All
Language: en
Pages: 314
Authors: Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002-04-15 - Publisher:

The Council, with help from the US Department of Education, held the Millennium Convention in Washington, DC in September 2000. It gathered educators, researche
The First 20 Hours
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Josh Kaufman
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-06-13 - Publisher: Penguin

Forget the 10,000 hour rule— what if it’s possible to learn the basics of any new skill in 20 hours or less? Take a moment to consider how many things you w