Livy: Book V

Livy: Book V

Book V of Livy's history of Rome is one of the most stirring. It contains a double climax: the capture by the Romans of their Etruscan neighbour, Veii; and the sack of Rome by the Gauls - the greatest victory of Rome to that time and the greatest threat to her survival before Hannibal.

Livy's dramatic narrative includes such well-known stories as the schoolmaster of Falerii and the saving of the Capitol by the cackling of the sacred geese. The career of the great republican hero Camillus, saviour and founder of Rome, is set against a background of internal struggles between patricians and plebeians. This exciting story makes Book V an admirable introduction to Livy for school and university students.

This edition includes an introduction, vocabulary, and notes which maintain the balance between linguistic and historical elucidation and provide regular chapter summaries.

  • Format: Paperback | 112 pages
  • Dimensions: 147 x 208 x 12mm | 275g
  • Publication date: 01 Apr 2013
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • Imprint: Bristol Classical Press
  • Publication City/Country: London, United Kingdom
  • Language: English
  • Edition: New edition
  • Edition Statement: New edition
  • ISBN10: 1853994421
  • ISBN13: 9781853994425
  • Bestsellers rank: 343,883

More Books:

The History of Rome
Language: en
Pages: 576
Authors: Livy
Categories: Rome
Type: BOOK - Published: 1909 - Publisher:

The Rise of Rome : Books One to Five
Language: en
Pages: 420
Authors: Livy
Categories: Punic War, 2nd, 218-201 B.C.
Type: BOOK - Published: 1998-10-01 - Publisher: Oxford University Press, UK

Romulus and Remus, the rape of Lucretia, Horatius at the bridge, the saga of Coriolanus, Cincinnatus called from his farm to save the state -- these and many mo
Livy, Book I.
Language: la
Pages: 428
Authors: Livy
Categories: Rome
Type: BOOK - Published: 1900 - Publisher:

Livy Book XXVII
Language: la
Pages: 255
Authors: Livy
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-08-08 - Publisher: Cambridge University Press

Originally published in 1913, this book contains the Latin text of the 27th book of the monumental history of Rome by Titus Livius, which deals with Roman advan
Livy : book XXVII
Language: la
Pages: 258
Authors: Livy
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1913 - Publisher:

A Companion to Livy
Language: en
Pages: 517
Authors: Bernard Mineo
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-15 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

A Companion to Livy features a collection of essays representing the most up-to-date international scholarship on the life and works of the Roman historian Livy
The Early History of Rome
Language: en
Pages: 436
Authors: Livy
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 1971 - Publisher: Penguin Classics

With stylistic brilliance and historical imagination, the first five books of Livy's monumental history of Rome record events from the foundation of Rome throug
Livy
Language: la
Pages: 444
Authors: Livy
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1890 - Publisher:

Spitfire
Language: en
Pages: 289
Authors: M. L. Huie
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-01-07 - Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

A “gritty and glamorous” debut historical mystery set in post-war Paris and London—for fans of Susan Elia MacNeal’s Maggie Hope series and Kate Quinn’
Discourses on Livy
Language: en
Pages: 443
Authors: Niccolò Machiavelli
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2023-11-16 - Publisher: Good Press

Machiavelli saw history in general as a way to learn useful lessons from the past for the present, and also as a type of analysis which could be built upon, as