My Friend the Alien: A Bloomsbury Reader

My Friend the Alien: A Bloomsbury Reader

A thought-provoking comedy about being an alien from prize-winning Zanib Mian.

Maxx is an alien: a real one - from the planet Zerg. He's on Earth to research these strange things called emotions that humans have (and eat as much chocolate as he can). But some of the humans seem to think Maxx's new human friend Jibreel is an alien too, and Maxx just can't figure it out. Why would coming from another country make you an alien?!

This funny science-fiction story is a perfect way to tackle difficult topics like racism and refugees with children. It has hilarious black-and-white illustrations from Sernur Isik throughout, and is ideal for children who are developing as readers.

The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence, covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com.

Book Band: Grey
Ideal for ages 8+

  • Format: Paperback | 96 pages
  • Dimensions: 129 x 198 x 10mm | 100g
  • Publication date: 09 Jul 2020
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • Imprint: Bloomsbury Education
  • Publication City/Country: United Kingdom
  • Language: English
  • ISBN10: 1472973909
  • ISBN13: 9781472973900
  • Bestsellers rank: 57,447

More Books:

My Friend the Alien: A Bloomsbury Reader
Language: en
Pages: 96
Authors: Zanib Mian
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-07-09 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

A thought-provoking comedy about being an alien from prize-winning Zanib Mian. Maxx is an alien: a real one - from the planet Zerg. He's on Earth to research th
My Friend the Alien: A Bloomsbury Reader
Language: en
Pages: 49
Authors: Zanib Mian
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-07-09 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Book Band: Grey - Ideal for ages 8+ A thought-provoking comedy about being an alien from prize-winning Zanib Mian. Maxx is an alien: a real one - from the plane
The Tempest: A Bloomsbury Reader
Language: en
Pages: 49
Authors: Franzeska G. Ewart
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-08-05 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Book Band: Dark Red (Ideal for ages 10+) A vibrant retelling of Shakespeare's The Tempest told through the voice of Ariel, written by Franzeska G. Ewart. A year
Sindhu and Jeet's Detective Agency: a Bloomsbury Reader
Language: en
Pages: 97
Authors: Chitra Soundar
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

An exciting detective story from Chitra Soundar, author of over 50 children's books in the UK, India and the US.Sindhu and Jeet are the best detectives in town:
My Other Life: A Bloomsbury Reader
Language: en
Pages: 49
Authors: Polly Ho-Yen
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-07-09 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Book Band: Brown - Ideal for ages 7+ Thought-provoking contemporary fantasy from best-selling author Polly Ho-Yen. Mae spends a lot of time in hospitals. She's
Detective Dan: A Bloomsbury Reader
Language: en
Pages: 25
Authors: Vivian French
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-02 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Book Band: Lime - Ideal for ages 7+ A quirky school comedy from Vivian French. Perfect for fans of Wigglesbottom Primary and Kes Grey's Daisy books. When Dan ge
The Queen's Token: A Bloomsbury Reader
Language: en
Pages: 33
Authors: Pamela Oldfield
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-02-27 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Book Band: Brown - Ideal for ages 7+ A historical adventure set in Tudor times, perfect for fans of Terry Deary and Philip Ardagh's The Secret Diary series. Hal
The Boy in the Jam Jar: a Bloomsbury Reader
Language: en
Pages: 41
Authors: Joyce Dunbar
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-08-04 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books

'Joyce Dunbar is one of the best writers for children today.' (The Guardian) A powerful and personal story from Joyce Dunbar about what it's like to experience
How to Be an Alien
Language: en
Pages: 42
Authors: George Mikes
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-07 - Publisher: Longman

'Penguin Readers' are simplified texts designed in association with Longman to provide a step-by-step approach to the joys of reading for pleasure.
An Alien in the Jam Factory
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Chrissie Sains
Categories: Cerebral palsy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021 - Publisher: