Falling in Love with Close Reading

Falling in Love with Close Reading : Lessons for Analyzing Texts--And Life

Love brings us in close, leads us to study the details of a thing, and asks us to return again and again. These are the motivations and ideas that built this book.
-Chris Lehman and Kate Roberts

You and your students will fall for close reading. In Falling in Love with Close Reading, Christopher Lehman and Kate Roberts show us that it can be rigorous, meaningful, and joyous. You'll empower students to not only analyze texts but to admire the craft of a beloved book, study favorite songs and videogames, and challenge peers in evidence-based discussions.

Chris and Kate start with a powerful three-step close-reading ritual that students can apply to any text. Then they lay out practical, engaging lessons that not only guide students to independence in reading texts closely but also help them transfer this critical, analytical skill to media and even the lives they lead.

Responsive to students' needs and field-tested in classrooms, these lessons include: strategies for close reading narratives, informational texts, and arguments suggestions for differentiation sample charts and student work from real classrooms connections to the Common Core State Standards a focus on viewing media and life in this same careful way.

We see the ritual of close reading not just as a method of doing the academic work of looking closely at text-evidence, word choice, and structure, write Chris and Kate, but as an opportunity to bring those practices together to empower our students to see the subtle messages in texts and in their lives. Read Falling in Love with Close Reading and discover that the benefits and joy of close reading don't have to stop at the edge of the page.

Read a sample from the book to learn more about Chris and Kate's close-reading ritual for students and for an annotated text that shows how it works.

  • For ages: 9-12
  • Format: Hardback | 152 pages
  • Dimensions: 188 x 234 x 10mm | 268g
  • Publication date: 16 Oct 2013
  • Publisher: Heinemann Educational Books
  • Publication City/Country: United States
  • Language: English
  • Edition: Annotated
  • Edition Statement: Annotated edition
  • Illustrations note: Illustrations, unspecified
  • ISBN10: 0325050848
  • ISBN13: 9780325050843
  • Bestsellers rank: 276,968

More Books:

Falling in Love with Close Reading
Language: en
Pages: 0
Authors: Christopher Lehman
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014 - Publisher: Heinemann Educational Books

"Love brings us in close, leads us to study the details of a thing, and asks us to return again and again. These are the motivations and ideas that built this b
Close Reading
Language: en
Pages: 412
Authors: Frank Lentricchia
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003 - Publisher: Duke University Press

DIVA reader intended for courses, presenting the continuity of close reading from New Criticism through poststructuralism./div
Notice & Note
Language: en
Pages: 0
Authors: G. Kylene Beers
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012 - Publisher: Heinemann Educational Books

"Examines the new emphasis on text-dependent questions, rigor, and text complexity, and what it means to be literate in the 21st century"--P. [4] of cover.
How Not to Fall in Love
Language: en
Pages: 341
Authors: Jacqueline Firkins
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-12-21 - Publisher: HMH Books For Young Readers

A hardened cynic and a hopeless romantic teach each other about love in this swoony and heartful romance that's perfect for fans of Tweet Cute and The Upside of
How to Fall in Love with Anyone
Language: en
Pages: 211
Authors: Mandy Len Catron
Categories: Family & Relationships
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-06-27 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

“A beautifully written and well-researched cultural criticism as well as an honest memoir” (Los Angeles Review of Books) from the author of the popular New
Readicide
Language: en
Pages: 128
Authors: Kelly Gallagher
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2023-10-10 - Publisher: Taylor & Francis

Read-i-cide: The systematic killing of the love of reading, often exacerbated by the inane, mind-numbing practices found in schools. Reading is dying in our sch
The Feeling of Falling in Love
Language: en
Pages: 321
Authors: Mason Deaver
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-08-16 - Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

From the bestselling author of I Wish You All the Best, comes a new kind of love story, about the bad decisions we sometimes make... and the people who help get
Falling for Hamlet
Language: en
Pages: 229
Authors: Michelle Ray
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-07-05 - Publisher: Poppy

Passion, romance, drama, humor, and tragedy intertwine in this compulsively readable Hamlet retelling, from the perspective of a strong-willed, modern-day Ophel
Fletcher and the Falling Leaves
Language: en
Pages: 36
Authors: Julia Rawlinson
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-09-01 - Publisher: eBook Partnership

As the autumn season sets in, Fletcher is very worried his beautiful tree has begun to loose all of its leaves. Whatever Fletcher attempts to do to save them, i
Before We Were Strangers
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Renée Carlino
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-08-18 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

From the USA TODAY bestselling author of Sweet Thing and Nowhere But Here comes a love story about a Craigslist “missed connection” post that gives two peop