The Woman who Changed Her Brain

The Woman who Changed Her Brain : How We Can Shape our Minds and Other Tales of Cognitive Transformation

Barbara Arrowsmith-Young was born with severe learning disabilities that caused teachers to label her as slow, stubborn - or worse. As a child, she read and wrote everything backwards, was physically uncoordinated and she continually got lost. But by relying on her formidable memory and iron will, she made her way to graduate school, where she chanced upon research that inspired her to invent cognitive exercises to 'fix' her own brain, which we now now as neuroplasticity.

The Woman Who Changed Her Brain interweaves Barbara's personal story with riveting case histories from over thirty years of working with both children and adults at what became the Arrowsmith School in Toronto. This remarkable book by a brilliant pioneer deepens our understanding of how the brain works. Our brains may shape us, but this book offers clear and hopeful evidence of the corollary: that we can shape our brains.

Foreword by Norman Doidge, M. D., author of The Brain that Changes Itself

  • Format: Paperback | 304 pages
  • Dimensions: 129 x 198 x 23mm | 287g
  • Publication date: 23 May 2013
  • Publisher: Vintage Publishing
  • Imprint: VINTAGE
  • Publication City/Country: London, United Kingdom
  • Language: English
  • Illustrations note: Illustrations
  • ISBN10: 0099563584
  • ISBN13: 9780099563587
  • Bestsellers rank: 20,694

More Books:

The Woman Who Changed Her Brain
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Barbara Arrowsmith-Young
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-09-17 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Previously published in hardcover: New York: Free Press, 2012.
The Brain That Changes Itself
Language: en
Pages: 447
Authors: Norman Doidge, M.D.
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-03-15 - Publisher: Penguin

“Fascinating. Doidge’s book is a remarkable and hopeful portrait of the endless adaptability of the human brain.”—Oliver Sacks, MD, author of The Man Wh
The Brain's Way of Healing
Language: en
Pages: 448
Authors: Norman Doidge
Categories: Medical
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-01-27 - Publisher: Penguin

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER The New York Times–bestselling author of The Brain That Changes Itself presents astounding advances in the treatment of brain injury
My Stroke of Insight
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Jill Bolte Taylor
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-05-12 - Publisher: Penguin

"Transformative...[Taylor's] experience...will shatter [your] own perception of the world."—ABC News The astonishing New York Times bestseller that chronicles
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Barbara K. Lipska
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-04-03 - Publisher: HarperCollins

In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts Barbara Lipska's deadly brain cancer and explains its unforgettable le
Unleash the Power of the Female Brain
Language: en
Pages: 418
Authors: Daniel G. Amen
Categories: Health & Fitness
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-02-12 - Publisher: Harmony

Outlines a step-by-step program for women to improve health and well-being by addressing the unique needs of the female brain, answering common questions in are
The Female Brain
Language: en
Pages: 306
Authors: Louann Brizendine, MD
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-08-07 - Publisher: Harmony

Since Dr. Brizendine wrote The Female Brain ten years ago, the response has been overwhelming. This New York Times bestseller has been translated into more than
Use Your Brain to Change Your Age
Language: en
Pages: 386
Authors: Daniel G. Amen, M.D.
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-01-01 - Publisher: Harmony

From the bestselling author and PBS star, a brain healthy program to turn back the clock, and keep your mind sharp and your body fit. “Dr. Amen magically show
This Is Your Brain on Birth Control
Language: en
Pages: 321
Authors: Sarah Hill
Categories: Health & Fitness
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-10-01 - Publisher: Penguin

An eye-opening book that reveals crucial information every woman taking hormonal birth control should know This groundbreaking book sheds light on how hormonal
Learning How to Learn
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Barbara Oakley, PhD
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-08-07 - Publisher: Penguin

A surprisingly simple way for students to master any subject--based on one of the world's most popular online courses and the bestselling book A Mind for Number