Show; Don't Tell!

Show; Don't Tell! : Secrets of Writing

Show; Don't Tell! : Secrets of Writing

  • For ages: 6-8
  • Format: Hardback | 40 pages
  • Dimensions: 247 x 292 x 1mm | 675g
  • Publication date: 01 Sep 2004
  • Publisher: GINGERBREAD HOUSE
  • Publication City/Country: Westhampton Beach, NY, United States
  • Language: English
  • Illustrations note: colour illus
  • ISBN10: 0940112132
  • ISBN13: 9780940112131
  • Bestsellers rank: 123,252

American Booksellers Association Picks List Winner of a 2004 Parents' Choice Recommended Award Winner of the Best Trade Book with Educational Application award from Global Learning Initiative, a partnership of The Bologna Children's Book Fair and The Association of Educational Publishers Selected for The Original Art exhibition at the Museum of Illustration Winner of a Children's Choices Award from the International Reading Association/Children's Book Council Winner of the National Parenting Publications Honors Award Innovative yet accessible writing strategies appropriate for both fiction and nonfiction are presented in this enchanting tale of a writing lion who holds court for a cast of animal friends. Aspiring writers learn the essential nature of nouns and adjectives and how to use them to express their individual visions so that they "show and don't tell" every time. Writing lessons are cleverly integrated into a tale that incorporates a sound chip, a scratch-and-sniff patch, and a tactile object to engage the aspiring writer's five senses in fun proofs.

More Books:

Show Don’t Tell
Language: en
Pages: 196
Authors: William Noble
Categories: Language Arts & Disciplines
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-11-13 - Publisher: The Write Thought, Inc

If one hears one thing from every single writing instructor it’s, “Show, don’t tell.” “Don’t tell us he’s afraid of losing her, show us!” “Don
Show Me, Don't Tell Me
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Dave Holston
Categories: Design
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-05-14 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

A guide to strategic communication for stronger brands! Powerful brands succeed because of the quality of the long-term relationships they establish with custom
Don't Tell (The Chicago Series Book 1)
Language: en
Pages: 300
Authors: Karen Rose
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-12-10 - Publisher: Hachette UK

They tried to escape him, but he wouldn't let them: DON'T TELL is a gripping thriller in the Chicago series by the Sunday Times bestseller Karen Rose. Desperate
Don't Tell Meg Trilogy
Language: en
Pages: 902
Authors: Paul J. Teague
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-08-02 - Publisher: Clixeo Publishing LTD

Don't Tell Meg: Two women. One night. So many deaths. When radio journalist Pete Bailey betrays his wife Meg on his fortieth birthday, he has no idea of the ter
Dogs Don't Tell Jokes
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Louis Sachar
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-07-26 - Publisher: A&C Black

'Why did the guy eat two dead skunks for breakfast?' 'Because dead ones squeal when you stick the fork in.' Gary W. Boone knows he was born to be a stand-up com
Boys Don't Tell
Language: en
Pages: 130
Authors: Randy Ellison
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-08-01 - Publisher: Morgan James Publishing

American society is in the midst of a crisis, an epidemic of violence, secrets and shame. The victims reside in every town, on every street. Finding it easier t
Shh! Don't Tell
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Miriam Moriarty Owens
Categories: Abused children
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011 - Publisher: Lulu.com

My story is one of survival, and a true depiction of how from the age of 18 months was physically emotionally and mentally abused. From early childhood right up
Don't Tell Me It's Okay
Language: en
Pages: 116
Authors: Sue Doble
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-11-29 - Publisher: Author House

This book is about grief in its rawest form. As you read you will visit each emotion and entertain the feelings that go with them. The book does not just descri
Don't Tell the Brides-to-Be
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Anna Bell
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-02-12 - Publisher: Hachette UK

A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy perfect for fans of Holly Martin and Joanna Bolouri. Things are looking up for Penny. Her business, Princess on a Shoestring, i
What Colleges Don't Tell You (And Other Parents Don't Want You to Know)
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Elizabeth Wissner-Gross
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-08-03 - Publisher: Penguin

A sought-after packager of high school students shares 272 secrets to help parents get their kids into the top schools Targeting the savvy parents of today's co