How We Learn

How We Learn : The New Science of Education and the Brain

'Absorbing, mind-enlarging, studded with insights ... This could have significant real-world results' Sunday Times

Humanity's greatest feat is our incredible ability to learn. Even in their first year, infants acquire language, visual and social knowledge at a rate that surpasses the best supercomputers. But how, exactly, do our brains learn?

In How We Learn, leading neuroscientist Stanislas Dehaene delves into the psychological, neuronal, synaptic and molecular mechanisms of learning. Drawing on case studies of children who learned despite huge difficulty and trauma, he explains why youth is such a sensitive period, during which brain plasticity is maximal, but also assures us that our abilities continue into adulthood. We can all enhance our learning and memory at any age and 'learn to learn' by taking maximal advantage of the four pillars of the brain's learning algorithm: attention, active engagement, error feedback and consolidation.

The human brain is an extraordinary machine. Its ability to process information and adapt to circumstances by reprogramming itself is unparalleled, and it remains the best source of inspiration for recent developments in artificial intelligence. How We Learn finds the boundary of computer science, neurobiology, cognitive psychology and education to explain how learning really works and how to make the best use of the brain's learning algorithms - and even improve them - in our schools and universities as well as in everyday life.

  • Format: Paperback | 352 pages
  • Dimensions: 129 x 198 x 20mm | 282g
  • Publication date: 28 Jan 2021
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication City/Country: London, United Kingdom
  • Language: English
  • ISBN13: 9780141989303
  • Bestsellers rank: 23,942

More Books:

How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 274
Authors: Benedict Carey
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-09 - Publisher: Random House

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about lear
How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 369
Authors: Stanislas Dehaene
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-02-02 - Publisher: Penguin

“There are words that are so familiar they obscure rather than illuminate the thing they mean, and ‘learning’ is such a word. It seems so ordinary, everyo
How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 271
Authors: Benedict Carey
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-11 - Publisher: Pan Macmillan

From an early age, we are told that restlessness, distraction, and ignorance are the enemies of success. Learning is all self-discipline, so we must confine our
Understanding How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 238
Authors: Yana Weinstein
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-08-22 - Publisher: Routledge

Educational practice does not, for the most part, rely on research findings. Instead, there’s a preference for relying on our intuitions about what’s best f
The ABCs of How We Learn: 26 Scientifically Proven Approaches, How They Work, and When to Use Them
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Daniel L. Schwartz
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-07-26 - Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

Selected as one of NPR's Best Books of 2016, this book offers superior learning tools for teachers and students, from A to Z. An explosive growth in research on
How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Knud Illeris
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-10-21 - Publisher: Taylor & Francis

Having published in 11 languages and sold in more than 100,000 copies, this fully revised edition of How We Learn examines what learning actually is and why and
Learning How to Learn
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Barbara Oakley, PhD
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-08-07 - Publisher: Penguin

A surprisingly simple way for students to master any subject--based on one of the world's most popular online courses and the bestselling book A Mind for Number
Visible Learning and the Science of How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: John Hattie
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-10-08 - Publisher: Routledge

On publication in 2009 John Hattie’s Visible Learning presented the biggest ever collection of research into what actually work in schools to improve children
Grasp
Language: en
Pages: 353
Authors: Sanjay Sarma
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-08-10 - Publisher: Anchor

How do we learn? And how can we learn better? In this groundbreaking look at the science of learning, Sanjay Sarma, head of Open Learning at MIT, shows how we c
How We Learn
Language: en
Pages: 249
Authors: Klaus Issler
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002-05-17 - Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

No one fully understands how learning works, but educational psychologists understand a great deal about what works. The collaborative team of Klaus Issler and